WHY I WANT TO BLOG

Hello My name is Peggy. I am a wife and mother. I am very passionate about my faith and my family. I met my husband when I was 12 years old at church he is a year older than I am. At first I was shy to say hello to him. He was noticeably physically disabled and like many people I was ignorant and assumed his physical disabilities came with mental disabilities and I didn’t know how to act. I of course learned quickly how wrong I was. My husband was actually very smart and friendly and within a couple of months we started calling each other boyfriend and girlfriend. Unfortunately I was young and not mature enough for a long-term relationship especially with someone I only saw at church on Sunday. My family became inactive shortly after and I eventually lost contact with Cody.
Fast forward to around April 2010
I was living with a guy who needless to say was NOT the one. I got a friend request from an old friend. Cody had gotten home from his mission a few months before and wanted to say hello. A week later we met for lunch. What I didn’t know was he had not told his girlfriend at the time so I had to talk to his girlfriend and tell her that I was in a long-term relationship and was living with someone so there was nothing to worry about. About a month later I found half-naked photos on my boyfriend at the times phone which led to our breakup. I did not cope well with that breakup and started to work on self discovery. Cody was a good friend to me and helped in courage me to come back to church. Cody and his significant other also broke up around this time as well not because of our friendship I should mention. As I was coming back to church I also would hang out with Cody a lot. We would most of the time go and see movies which I love then go back to his house where he lived with his parents and socialize with his family.
I felt things were changing between Cody and I but I didn’t know for sure if I wanted to pursue a relationship with him just yet because I knew and our age a relationship would not be puppy love it would be serious. To be honest the time I realized I wanted to date Cody was when I was stood up by someone else. I was really irritated and the only person I felt I wanted to talk to about it was Cody and realized it was because he was my best friend so I went over to his house to watch movies. When he walked me to my car we talked for a while and it was apparent to me that our friendship had gotten serious. We shared a kiss that night before I went home.
A week before Christmas in 2010 my husband purposed to me on one knee in front of a white Christmas tree with my ring on an ornament in his living room. It was one of the greatest moments in my life. We were married in the Dallas Texas temple in May of 2010. Our first child was born in January 2016.
I tell you this story because I have had people tell me not to marry my husband and not to have his children because he has FOP(Fibrodysplasia Ossificans Progressiva) it is a rare disease that causes my husband’s body to grow more bone then it should. My daughter inherited the disease from her father. I can tell you, however, I have spent many nights praying asking Heavenly Father for guidance and he continues to assure me that I have the family I was meant to have and I am very grateful for both of them.
THANKS FOR READING

 

Leave a comment